Meatless Mondays : Baby Steps

Happy Monday!

     Lately, I have been looking into veganism/vegetarianism and how to incorporate vegan alternatives into my diet slowly. I know what you’re thinking, here comes another tree hugger, here to shame meat eaters. Not at all, I am one myself. I love meat and I will probably never, ever completely stop eating it so I won’t even lie and say it. But, I have been fighting within myself when it comes to dairy and meat and what is being put into our food. With that being said, I have decided to do Meatless Mondays. Not only is it kind of catchy, but, I think it is a great way to start off my week. I have tons of fruits and veggies packed and I am confident that I can make it through the day without eating meat. My biggest trial will probably be cooking dinner for my boyfriend. But, I will stay strong and stick to my veggie options.

The notion of going completely meatless, if even for a day is very foreign to me if I’m being honest. I was raised on the thought that you had to have meat with every meal or else, it wasn’t a meal. Meat was the ‘main attraction’ so -to-speak and I knew nothing else. But, I started doing a little researching on my own and I have started making little but, necessary changes in my diet. I don’t drink milk. Only almond. This is one of the first changes I have made. With all the things things I have read and seen being put into cows milk and coming out of cows milk, I have decided to let it go. I see the way it makes me feel and look and I choose not to have it anymore. I’m still struggling with ice cream though. I had an ice cream cone last week and I felt kinda gross eating it. lol So, I have finally found a vegan ice cream recipe (that doesn’t include bananas, yuck) that I am super excited to make!

So instead of fooling myself and saying I am stopping meat all together, I am trying to take baby steps into a healthier lifestyle. Right now, I am gathering recipes that seem like they are close to what I am use to so that I won’t feel like I am missing out on anything. So, hopefully I will have a hand full of go-to recipes when I want a healthier option to the things I enjoy.

If anyone has some recipes and/or advise they would like to share, please leave a comment below! If you are vegan or transitioning or just curious like me, let’s talk about it! I’d love to hear your input.

 

As Always, Love & Peace ♥

 

7 Replies to “Meatless Mondays : Baby Steps”

Leave a Reply

