Mental Awareness

Lately, I have been trying to dig deep into my inner peace and happiness. I have been trying to be healthy in every aspect of my life. Mentally, physically, spiritually. I’m becoming more and more in-tune with myself. What makes me happy, what motivates me, what makes me sad.

I was talking with my friend the other day. About strength and having faith in yourself and God. I truly believe God put her in my life for a reason. When we first met, I had no idea we would become friends. We didn’t speak much and I honestly thought we would never even have a conversation..I was wrong. I have watched her from the carefree stages of life. I have watched her get pregnant, tell me she wasn’t having it, tell me she was having it, keep it, make it through months and loose him within the second trimester. Him. It was a boy, so beautiful. She was so excited. I watched her turn from being unsure, to excited, to depressed, to..hopeful, to tired, to exhausted, to weak. Lupus was the culprit. I saw her being drained of hope and faith. I saw her bright spirit leaving her and it saddened me. I didn’t know what to say. What can you say? How can you explain it? How can you justify it? But, I also see her pulling through.

We had a nice, long talk the other day and we both were damn near brought to tears. Listening to her describe her pain, not only physical but, mental. She is fighting. And she isn’t letting it get the best of her. In my eyes, she is winning everyday. Seeing her fight everyday lights something inside of me. Every time I help her out the car, I find strength in her strength. Every time I hear her tell me she couldn’t move this morning, I find faith in her faith. Every time I see her with lipstick on, I know she had the strength to do so. Every time I see her dressed up, I know she is having a better day than most days.

I find strength in so many aspects of my life that I didn’t even know were there. All of my excuses and problems seem so trivial when I look around me. It is a reminder that there is more and I am capable of more. With so much going on in the world, in your own situations, you have to stop and make sure you are okay mentally. Cause honestly, your mental health is the back bone to all else. It is that driving force, that encouragement, that undying strength. So, I said all of that to say, take care of your mental health. It is stronger than you think.

lupus

As always, Peace & Love.

Leave a Reply

