Even if you in a Benz, you still a Nigga in a Coupe..

“Love life period, not just yours..” – Me

 

“You don’t have to train police officers not to shoot white people, why do we have to train them not to shoot us?”

– Sheryl Underwood

For the past three days, I have been at war with myself. As I watch police kill another black body and leave them slain in the street, it yanks at the strings of my heart. Another black body. Another father lost. Another son, uncle, brother, grandfather, dead all because…..Well, I don’t really need to say it but, I’m sure the police reports will have a fabricated ‘reason’ as to why. And all of it is bullshit. Not only do they get away with murder, falsifying documents, tampering with evidence, falsified stories, magically malfunctioning body cams..but, they get a paid vacation leave afterwards.What kind of sense does that make? We are supposed to feel protected by the same police that are ‘scared’ of us..for being black. We are supposed to call them in times of need but, who do we call when the police are the ones we need protection from. And let me say *disclaimer* I KNOW NOT ALL COPS OR WHITE PEOPLE ARE BAD, CORRUPT, OR RACIST. But we aren’t talking about y’all right now. The spotlight is on the true cowards who call themselves officers.

I have never been more fearful in my life of being black than now. I have never understood the importance of a strong community base until now. You can literally be killed for any and everything. You were complying with the officers commands? STILL MURDERED. You walking in an area you ‘don’t belong in’? MURDERED. Wearing a hoodie? MURDERED. Selling CD’s? MURDERED. Selling cigarettes? MURDERED. ‘Looking like a bad dude’? Murdered. God forbid you are actually doing something wrong right? But hell, how things are going, what’s the difference? But to ask a better question, what are the similarities? Black. No matter how smart you are, you can still get murdered. You live in a nice neighborhood? See if that saves you. You make a lot of money, great. See if that saves you. You are a God-fearing person, great. See if that saves you. As long as we have black skin covering our bodies our lifestyles, families, jobs, religion, status will not save us. And our government makes that clear everyday. So to my black people, please stay focused. The most you can do is try to live right an pray.

I look at my generation of black people and I am so saddened by what I see. Pointless fights shared down my timeline, people repping gangs like it’s a way of life, women killing  and fighting each over men, men killing and fighting each over women, men and women even killing their own children. Don’t we get enough of this from outside of our community? You mean to tell me, that we as black people harvest so much hate towards each other that we can’t put that aside and CHOOSE LIFE. We really can’t do that? We really want to put the next person down because somebody else has more than you..or less than you? Well guess what, you still a nigga in a coupe to that cop that sees you as threatening. You still a nigga in a coupe to that job that won’t hire you simply because you are black.  You still a nigga in a coupe to that neighbor that gives you the side eye in your ‘nice neighborhood’.

So to my black people, CHOOSE LIFE, rep life, fight for you life and equality and justice. Don’t just give it away to a world that is banking on us to fail. We have to show ourselves that Black Lives Matter.

And I know me writing about it probably won’t change anyone’s mind. There will be another gang shooting tomorrow, another drug related crime next week, another fight another day. But, I don’t know about you, but as a black person, I’m not gonna lie and say that I am not afraid to be pulled over. I’m not gonna lie like I won’t ask God to not be shot during a routine stop. As a black person, I am fearful for my life every time I walk out the door but at the same time proud in the loudest, most unapologetic Blackest way possible. 😉

So please, think before you raise that gun to kill, or raise that fist to fight or rob, or steal. Let the fear and hunger for life be more powerful than hate.

“Their greedy eyes don’t realize, that’s someones son..Finger on the trigger for the years to come..”- Sade X Clean Heart

Peace & Love ♥

⊥Title extracted from Kanye X When it All Falls Down

