Find Yourself

Snapchat-236937055060192921

It is easy to assume that you know yourself. You can look in the mirror and decide that you know exactly who you are and where you’re going. But if you look a little closer and spend some quality time with yourself, no distractions, no friends, no family you will find that you are still growing into who you’re supposed to be.

Now, a lot of things can make you feel like you have it all together, and maybe you do..but suppose you don’t. You may have a successful job, a blooming relationship, and awesome friends that support you but, what do you have minus that? I had to ask myself this same thing. When you take a step back and figure out who you are without these things, only then can you find the real you. And when you do, it’s an eye opening experience and the visual of YOU will make you ten times happier and it will bring peace to your life.

I myself was in search for peace, stability, and I thought I could find that in friendship or a relationship. These things made me feel like I had purpose higher than myself but what I didn’t realize, was that I was lowering my values and morals and changing who I was for that search of happiness. But if I couldn’t be me, was I really happy? When you find yourself changing, you don’t notice it overnight. It’s like if you start gaining weight, you never notice when you gain a little pouch over your stomach until one day you realize you went from a size 5 to a 10. You never notice until you’ve gone too far. That’s what I did to myself. I didn’t notice I wasn’t myself until something deep in me started fighting who I was turning into. I noticed myself snapping a lot more, defending other people actions, and separating myself from those I loved..all because I was losing myself to make myself feel better for the way people treated me. I was turning into a monster.

It wasn’t until I got out of that relationship and eliminated myself from those friends that were toxic to my well-being that I started to rediscover who the fuck I was. 😉 And when you let these things go, you realize how many blessing come your way. You start to see just how powerful you are and you GET THINGS DONE! You are no longer distracted by who likes you and who doesn’t, whether he will call or not, you realize none of that matters. And when you discover your sense of self worth, let me tell you, it is beautiful. I am not perfect, and I can’t say that I will ever be, but I know that whatever I am, I will always be Malissa. Regardless to the circumstance around me, regardless to those who try to get me out of my character to make themselves feel good, I will always be me.

So do yourself a favor, find you. Take yourself out to dinner, to a movie, redecorate your apartment, take walks by yourself, read a book, sit in SILENCE. Because when you do, you’ll be able to hear yourself loud and clear. 🙂

Thanks for reading.

One Reply to “Find Yourself”

Leave a Reply

